59 cents a day per child…

I have a new understanding.  And that understanding has left me heartbroken.

Having just finished eating rice and beans for a week, I am here to say, this was not what I expected.  Honestly, I thought for a week I could handle it.  I like rice. I like beans. I was eating…but I was tired and weak, and I really wanted an apple or anything other than rice and beans.  And I was hungry sometimes, even though I was eating rice and beans.

Joshua is a better sport than I am!

Joshua is a better man than I am!

I am realizing at some level that I thought it was ok to feed the hungry rice and beans at every meal…at least “they” weren’t starving.

THIS is not acceptable.

I am heartbroken for those who are mal-nourished, deprived, tired. God created a vast assortment of foods that taste good, that nourish us.  He could have created only rice and beans, but He didn’t.  He created an overwhelming variety for our enjoyment. (God) richly provides everything for our enjoyment. I Tim 6:17 *

So, what to do?

I have two core beliefs–first that God has provided enough to meet every need, and second, that as we obey God’s commands, their needs and our own will be met. 2 Corinthians 8:13-15

With God, there is no shortage.2 Cor 9:8-10

Notice the "door" to her home in the slums...it's a piece of fabric.

Notice the "door" to her home in the slums...it's a piece of fabric.

Throughout the rest of 2009, we’ll be looking at a variety of Jesus’ commands (If anyone loves me, he will obey my teaching.), and prayerfully taking action to obey them!

Here’s the first one for this week:

Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes?… But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow…  Matt 6:25-33

But my righteous one will live by faith. And if he shrinks back, I will not be pleased with him.” Hebrews 10:38

Will you take time to pray and ask God if He would like you to take a step of faith, trust Him for tomorrow, and take money out of your retirement or savings account to meet the needs of others?  Ask God, and listen.  When you’ve listened and heard, then obey.

God does not expect us to argue with Him when He tells us to do something.  He doesn’t expect us to apply human logic to our circumstances.  He simply expects us to obey and trust Him.  I have found that whenever we step out in obedience to God’s voice, miracles follow~ Brother Yun, Living Water

If she were Jesus, would you feed her? Matt 25

If she were Jesus, would you share your retirement fund with her? Matt 25:31-46

Christ never said being his disciple would cost nothing.  Following Him comes at personal cost in this short life, but great gain in the next.  Penalties may be paid when money is withdrawn from retirement accounts.  But the eternal rewards will far outweigh the penalties.

We are to love our neighbors as ourselves.  If we or our children were hungry, would we take something out of our retirement program to feed them? If so, why wouldn’t we consider doing this for our neighbor’s children? Pg 334

The truth is, we really don’t need retirement programs.  As God’s children, we don’t need them.  Our brothers and sisters in other ages didn’t have retirement programs, and neither do most Christians today in other places.  Yet they’ve found God absolutely sufficient to meet their needs. Pg 337

Randy Alcorn- Money, Possessions & Eternity

A "real" school bus is now required.  I doubt any of us would want our children traveling this way!

A "real" school bus is now required. I doubt any of us would want our children traveling this way!

This week, we made a list of the things needed in Nkumba.  This is going to be exciting as we see our obedience meet needs!  Your enthusiasm will stir most others to action! 2 Cor 9:2

These are listed in order of priority:

  • A school bus–if they continue to drive children to school in the lorry,  John will be imprisoned.  1000 children, 1 school bus. $40,000
  • Chicken coops & stables–$10,000
  • 1000 laying chickens, 8 milking cows, 4 goats– $500/cow, $20/pair of chickens, $250/goat
  • A kitchen at the school with power, running water, etc. $16,000
  • Sponsors for an additional 135 children- $42/month per child
  • 10 acres of land (adjacent to the 30) to plant avocado & mango trees $1200/acre
  • 350 avocado & mango trees- $2 to $3 per tree
  • Used dual-cab truck for prison evangelism.  Currently they rely on public transportation to travel to remote prisons.  Nightmare!  And we’re asking for the dual cab–not John.   Seggy, Mark, Frank and others have piled in the back of the single-cab truck (which they no longer have), in pouring rain. $14,000
  • Prison ministry- an additional $500/month will allow for expanded  evangelism
  • Dormitories, beds, and toilet facilities to care for 65 street kids- $770 per child ($50,000)
  • A vocational school is needed–costs not estimated yet

All said and done, that’s only $231,740 for the year.  Only $216 per child!!!!!  Or 59 cents a day per child.

And, not only the children are being helped, but more than 20,000 prisoners are hearing the gospel of Christ, being discipled in Christ, leaving prison and starting churches!

*pg 35,36 The Stranger on the Road to Emmaus

This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.